Literary Awards

The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery" - books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie and others.  The awards are given to materials first published in the United States by a living author either in hardcover, paperback original, or e-pubished.  The Agathas are awared in five categories: Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Non-fiction, Best Short Story, Best Children's/Young Adult.
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing. The Alex Awards were first given annually beginning in 1998 and became an official ALA award in 2002.
Presented annually by the Horror Writers of America for superior achievement in horror writing in twelve different categories.
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Sponsored by the Mystery Writers of America, the Edgar Allan Poe Awards honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television and film.
 Beginning in 1955, the Hugo Awards are science fiction's most prestigious awards.  The Hugos are presented to three main categories:  individual works suchs as a single book or film; people, such as editors and artists; and serial publicatons, such as fanzines.
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature. The awards announcement is made at the ALA Midwinter Meeting as part of the Youth Media Awards and is celebrated with a program and reception each year at the ALA Annual Conference.
The prize, established in 1968, seeks to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonweath or the Republic of Ireland.
The National Book Award
Since 1950, the National Book Award has recognized the best of American literature.  The awards are givien to recognize achievements in four categories:  Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry and Young People's Literature.
The Nebula Awards are presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America to celebrate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing.
The Nobel Prize in Literature is presented to "the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work of an idealistic tendency." (quotation is an exerpt from the will of Alfred Nobel)
The Pulitzer Prize is awarded to an author whose work best depicts American life.  Categories include fiction, drama, poetry, general nonfiction and biography.
Awarded by the Romance Writers of America, the RITA Awards promote excellence in the romance genre by recognizing outstanding pubished romance novels and novellas.
The Spur Awards are given annually for distinguished writing about the American West.  This award was established in 1953 by the Western Writers of America.