Research Databases - Alphabetical

The Library provides access to 100+ selected premium databases which include homework help, magazine and newspaper articles, business information, genealogy tools, auto repair and more.  The subscription costs for these databases are paid by the library so that you may utilize them for free.
 
You may access the databases, without charge, from your home and/or office with a valid library card, or at a library branch through our catalog. Branch access does not require a library card.
 
 
Click on the links below to go directly to databases with the corresponding letters.
< A B C D EG H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z >
 
Academic Search Premier contains articles from hundreds of academic and professional journals.
 
This digital collection illuminates specific moments in the history of Ohio's African-Americans and provides an overview of their experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them.
 
Ancestry Plus contains a wealth of genealogical information, including U.S. census records, birth, marriage, and death records, Social Security Index records, and more. Search by name, city, state, and date of birth/death.
 
This resource contains more than 54,000 digital images from seventeen art museums around the world, including Cleveland Museum of Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Victoria and Albert Museum.
 
 
Biography Reference Bank
What is it? Biographies, obituaries, and photographs of thousands of individuals – both living and deceased. Biographies Plus Illustrated contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson, plus thousands of profiles licensed from other respected publishers; updated monthly. For more information, see this INFOhio video overview, or this 7-min. YouTube video.
 
Why use it? Find multiple sketches of the subject's life and accomplishments. Search by time period, profession, place of origin, and birth and death dates. View digital images for many of the subjects.
  
Business Source Premier contains articles from thousands of scholarly business journals and hundreds of peer-reviewed business publications.
 
 
ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
 
 
The complete range of citation and full-text reference content available from EBSCO.
 
Education Portal is an informative guide to undergraduate degrees, graduate degrees, career education and online degree programs for students and working professionals. This site contains thousands of articles and videos on subjects such as job interviewing, networking, resumes, careers, colleges, and much more.
 
ExploreOhio links you to information about Ohio arts, business, education, history, government, travel, attractions, jobs, science, sports, and much more.
 
 
Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive courses that you can take entirely online. You can enroll in courses with your library card. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.
 
 
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.
 
Job & Career Accelerator (Learning Express)
What is it? The LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator™ provides personalized, step-by-step job search assistance for all levels of job seekers. Job seekers can explore suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles and find available jobs in their area from a database of over 5 million up-to-date job postings.
 
Why use it? With Job & Career Accelerator, users can easily create professional targeted resumes, master interviewing techniques, improve work related skills and prepare for occupation-related exams. In addition, it helps job seekers plan, tailor, and track multiple job searches at the same time while providing expert advice and tips each step of the way.
 
 
Kids Search, geared for children in grades K-5, is a kid-friendly way to search the content of six databases from EBSCO (database company): EBSCO Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.
 
Learning Express Library Updated 3.0 Version
Learn A Test (Learning Express Library) provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests, licensing exams, and tutorial courses such as the GED, civil service exams, college entrance exams, occupational exams, and U.S. Citizenship tests. Also includes courses in job searching and resume writing skills.
 
Provides a wide selection of Ohio-specific (and multi-state) legal forms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions.
 
Literature On-Line (American & English full text Literature Collections)
Literature Online contains the full-text of works of literature, including poetry, drama, and fiction from a variety of time periods.
 
Contains complete text of 125,000 poems, thousands of short stories, essays, plays and speeches, along with excerpts from 850,000 poems.
 
 
 
MasterFILE™ Premier (Magazine Search)
MasterFILE Premier provides full-text for almost 2,000 general reference publications and magazines, as well as thousands of biographies, photos, maps, and flags. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest dating back to 1975.
 
 
NetWellness is a non-profit consumer health website that provides high-quality information by medical and health professional faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University, and The Ohio State University.
 
Newspaper Source
What is it? Cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers and selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, plus TV and radio news transcripts – updated daily.
 
Why use it? Read articles from newspaper around the country. Access industry-specific newspapers. Search TV and radio news transcripts.
 
Can’t remember the fourth book in a series by James Patterson, or need a list of books written by Janet Evanovich? NoveList is here to satisfy your fiction reading needs. You can search NoveList by author, title, series, keyword, subject, or genre, and find detailed title information, similar titles and authors, and so much more!
 
 
 
Fight for the Colors provides online access to the Ohio Battle Flag Collection from the Ohio Historical Society. There are more than five hundred flags in the collection, the majority of which are from the Civil War.
 
Ohio Death Certificate Index contains death certificates of persons who died in Ohio in 1913-1914.
 
Ohio History Central is an online encyclopedia that contains information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history. Each section contains written information, maps, timelines, and images.
 
Ohio History was established in June 1887 as the Ohio Archaeological and Historical Quarterly. This online version of Ohio History contains peer-reviewed articles and book reviews on topics covering the political, military, social, economic, and cultural history of Ohio.
 
Ohio Memory contains 26,000 primary sources from 330 archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums that document Ohio’s past from prehistory to the present.
 
Produced by the Ohio State University Extension, Ohioline contains hundreds of fact sheets and bulletins on subjects including agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.
 
Nearly 200 full text dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press. Coverage includes Languages, Science and Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Business.
 
 
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides access to large-scale maps for towns and cities in Ohio, which can be used to estimate potential risk to urban structures. These maps are also a source of historical and genealogical information.
 
Facts on File Science Online contains articles on a variety of scientific subjects, including chemistry, physics, and mathematics, as well as numerous diagrams, videos, biographies, and more.
 
Designed for children, Searchasaurus is a fun, interactive way to search for information on a variety of topics, such as animals, history, science, health, and current events. Includes an encyclopedia, dictionary, and pictures.
 
Official Ohio Government website.
 
Student Resource Center is a simple way for junior high and high school students to search for information contained in the following databases: Columbia Encyclopedia, Health Source – Consumer Edition, MAS Ultra, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, and Vocational and Career Collection.
 
 
Transparent Language Online offers the most comprehensive language learning solution for library patrons. Quickly and easily learn a language, with our variety of courses and activities, in a flexible program.
 
 
 
 
What Tree Is It? is an online guide to identifying leaves and fruits from common trees in Ohio. By choosing from a series of leaf and fruit images, you can find the leaf or fruit that most closely resembles your sample.
 
What’s that Snake? includes 30 species and subspecies of snakes that are found in Ohio.
 
What’s the Point? identifies flint artifacts around Ohio.
 
Wilson Web combines Biography Resource Bank (biographical information on half a million people, from antiquity to present), Children’s Catalog, Fiction Catalog, and Public Library Catalog (selected lists of titles for libraries) into one database.
 
World Book Encyclopedia has been a trusted source of information for many years. Search for articles, photos, and much more in this online version of the World Book Encyclopedia.
 
WorldBook Hispanica
What is it? This comprehensive Spanish-language encyclopedia includes more than 100,000 articles, more than 8,500 images and maps, and nearly 1,000 videos, animations, sounds, and interactive media.
 
Why use it? It is designed for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and ESL/ELL program participants.
 
Explore the World Book Encyclopedia, the kid-friendly way! Find information on a variety of subjects, including articles, pictures, maps, and educational activities for children.
 
La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos está organizada de modo que los estudiantes puedan encontrar información rápida y fácilmente. The WorldBook Encyclopedia is an organized way that students can find information easily and quickly.
 
Zinio offers full digital versions of magazines you can read on your computer or mobile device. We’ve purchased unlimited access to many of your favorite popular and specialty magazines.
 
 

 

KnowItNow online reference service

My Account

Upcoming Events

Find us on Facebook Twitter RSS feed